

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Contact: Amy Lampe, Publicist (alampe@babson.edu) Date: Tuesday, May 17, 2011

2011 NEIBA ALL-NEW ENGLAND DIVISION III BASEBALL TEAMS ANNOUNCED

BABSON PARK, Mass. – The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) announced the 2011 Division III All-New England Teams today which featured 52 athletes from across the region. Eastern Connecticut State University senior Jim Schult was named the NEIBA Division III Player of the Year. Entering the NCAA Regional, Schult has started all 43 games for the Warriors as their top hitter batting .398 with 70 hits, 56 runs, 18 doubles and 11 homeruns with 62 RBI. His slugging percentage is .744 and he is 19-20 in stolen base attempts. On the mound, Schult has a season record of 9-1 with 80 strikeouts in 78 innings pitched.

Senior pitcher Ed Bernstein from Tufts University earned the NEIBA Pitcher of the Year award making 18 appearances entering this week's NCAA Regional. He has pitched 28 innings allowing no earned runs while striking out 40 batters and only walking 14. He has eight saves thus far and has only allowed 10 hits all season.

Western New England College's Matt LaBranche was named the NEIBA Coach of the Year after leading the Golden Bears to a 38-9 mark as they enter their sixth consecutive NCAA Championship after capturing their fourth straight Commonwealth Coast Conference (TCCC) title this spring.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR

COACH OF THE YEAR

lim Schult, Eastern Connecticut	FILTER OF THE TEAR	Matt LaBranche Western New England
Jim Schult, Eastern Connecticut FIRST TEAM DH – Ryan Dudzinski, SR, Western New Englan C – Tyler DiPrato, SR, Keene State 1B – Mike Eaton, SR, Southern Maine 2B – Ryan Walsh, SR, UMass Boston 3B – Dan Haugh, JR, Wheaton SS – Jake Northrup, FR, Endicott OF – Bobby Doyon, SR, Keene State OF – David Orlowitz, SR, Tufts OF – Rob Perry, SR, Eastern Connecticut OF – Todd Keneborus, SR, Saint Joseph's UT – David Ahern, SR, Babson UT – Jim Schult, SR, Eastern Connecticut P – Corey Batista, JR, Bridgewater State	d OF – Joshua Fe OF – Tyler Turg OF – Hal Lande UT – John Apo P – Shaun Slatt P – Roman Mo P – Frank Holb P – Chad Raffe <u>THIRD TEAM</u> DH – Korey Lel DH – Marco He	Second Team, continued OF – Joshua Ferreira, JR, Bridgewater State OF – Tyler Turgeon, SR, Eastern Connecticut OF – Hal Landers, JR, Wheaton UT – John Apostolo, JR, Mitchell P – Shaun Slattery, SO, Worcester State P – Roman Mondalto, JR, Westfield State P – Frank Holbrook, SO, Wheaton P – Chad Rafferty, SO, Saint Joseph's
 P – Ed Bernstein, SR, Tufts P – Matt Rogers, SR, Western New England SECOND TEAM DH – Thomas Wheeler, JR, Amherst C – Zach Roeder, JR, Middlebury C – Matt Collins, JR, Tufts 1B – Mike Pratt, SO, Saint Joseph's 2B – Josh Mackey, SR, Southern Maine 2B – Mike Rubino, SO, Western New England 3B – Forrest Chadwick, FR, Southern Maine 3B – Jake Cintolo, FR, Suffolk SS – Devan Jones, FR, Suffolk OF – Conor Bierfeldt, SO, Western Connecticut 	1B – Nick Flueg 1B – Kevin Mo 3B – Corey Mc SS – John Phela SS – Kyle Allair OF – Conor Ca OF – Kevin Hel OF – Pat Warri OF – Jeff Perillo OF – Richard N UT – Pat Nicho P – Kevin Gilch P – Ryan Healy P – Christian M	